40 officers graduate from 109th Basic Academy

40 officers graduate from 109th Basic Academy

SOUTHWEST LOUISIANA (KPLC) - Graduation ceremonies were held Thursday morning for 40 officers who completed training with the Calcasieu Parish Regional Law Enforcement Training Academy.

Thirty-five officers from the 109th Basic Academy completed 320 hours of instruction in basic law enforcement, while five of the officers completed 90 hours of instruction in refresher courses.

The forty officers represent 16 agencies in Southwest Louisiana and are all now certified as Basic Peace Officers. Today's graduates are as follows:

Tyrell Jones of the Calcasieu Parish Sheriff's Office was selected class president of the 109th Basic Academy.

The Highest Scholastic Average honor was awarded to Tanya Clark with the Cameron Parish Sheriff's Department.

Firearms awards were presented to Kerry Leger of the Cameron Parish Sheriff's Office (first place), Jody Brissette of the McNeese Police Department (second place) and Brandon Jinks of the Cameron Parish Sheriff's Office (third place).

The Defensive Tactics Honor was presented to Tyler Schexnayder with the Jeff Davis Parish Sheriff's Office.

Other graduates include:

Allen Parish Sheriff's Office:

Peggy Ray

Beauregard Sheriff's Office:

William Foye IV, Robert Hunt and Nicholas Smythe

Calcasieu Parish Sheriff's Office:

Heather Armstrong, Lindsey Bradshaw, Mason Cloud, Courtney Coleman, Jeffrey Cruthirds, Jordan East, Matthew Fast, Jeremy Hebert, Tyrell Jones, Kenneth Leach, Charles Manuel, Jr., Damien Otis, Daniel Randall and Dustin Sensat

Cameron Parish Sheriff's Office:

Tanya Clark, Brian Doxey, Bobbie Hicks, Brandon Jinks and Kerry Leger

Coushatta Police Department:

Timothy Hyatt

DeQuincy Police Department:

Beau Barber

Elton Police Department:

Charles Smith

Eunice Police Department:

Jade Weaver

Iowa Police Department:

Robert Brown

Jeff Davis Parish Sheriff's Office:

Roxana Guidry, Alyssa Malveaux and Tyler Schexnayder

McNeese Police Department:

Jody Brissette

Office of Juvenile Justice:

Jarvis Forman

Rayne Police Department:

Roshelle Dixon

Welsh Police Department:

Alexandra Romine

Refresher courses:

Attorney General's Office:

Reed Baily

Calcasieu Parish Sheriff's Office:

Ernest Mitchell

McNeese Police Department:

Michael Powell

Ward 4 Marshal Office:

Steven Key

Welsh Police Department:

Kristina Davy

The Calcasieu Parish Regional Law Enforcement Training Academy is located in Lake Charles and provides accredited training to several law enforcement agencies in Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron and Jeff Davis parishes.

It was established in 1974 and is administered by Calcasieu Parish Sheriff Tony Mancuso.

Copyright 2014 KPLC. All rights reserved.