JEFF DAVIS: Nov. 18 election results

Published: Nov. 18, 2023 at 9:23 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Results are complete but unofficial from the Louisiana Secretary of State’s Office.

Click HERE for more election results.

JEFF DAVIS PARISH, La. (KPLC) - Kyle Miers defeated Ivy Woods in Saturday’s general election to be the new Jeff Davis Sheriff.

Miers received 55.46 percent of the ballot (3,980 votes) to Woods’ 44.54 percent (3,196 votes).

Woods and Miers were in a runoff after neither garnered the 50 percent of the vote to win outright in the Oct. 14 primary. Woods received 42 percent of the ballot (3,447 votes) on Oct. 14, while Miers received 33 percent (2,708 votes).

Woods, who was born and raised in Jeff Davis Parish has served as sheriff since 2012 and began his career with law enforcement over two decades ago as a Louisiana State Trooper. He won numerous awards for his achievements, including “Senior Trooper of the Year” for Region II in 2004 and “Trooper of the Year” in 2006.

We caught up with Woods shortly after the results came in:

Ivy Woods defeated in Sheriff's race in Jeff Davis

Kyle Miers (R) works at the Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office, where he’s served on the dive team, SWAT team, and as a first-line supervisor in felony crime investigations.

Jeff Davis Sheriff-elect
Jeff Davis Sheriff-elect(KPLC)

Police Juror - District 2

In the race for Police Juror District 2, Chad Woods defeated Susette Mouton with 54.55% of the vote (348 votes to 290).

Roundup of tax renewals

Parishwide Proposition 1/2% Sales Tax (Tax Renewal): Passed with 51.95% of the vote (3,608 votes to 3,337).

Fire Protection District No. 5 Proposition (Millage Renewal): Passed with 62.62% of the vote (191 votes to 114).

BESE District 7 covers Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron and Jeff Davis parishes.

Kevin Berken won the runoff election, receiving 53 percent of the ballot (49,775 votes), and Erick Knezek received 47 percent (44,047 votes).

BESE District 7

(Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, Jeff Davis)

  • Kevin Berken (R): 53% (49,775 votes)
  • Erick Knezek (R): 47% (44,047 votes)