OCT. 14 ELECTION: What’s on Vernon’s ballot?

Published: Aug. 8, 2023 at 3:49 PM CDT|Updated: Aug. 10, 2023 at 5:54 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

VERNON PARISH, La. (KPLC) - Louisiana will elect a new governor this fall.

State residents will vote in the gubernatorial primary election on Saturday, Oct. 14, 2023. Numerous other local and state races will also be on the ballot, as well as four constitutional amendments and local tax propositions.

Qualifying for the election began Tuesday and continues through Thursday.

A candidate must receive 50 percent of the vote, plus one vote, to win a race. Runoffs will be held Saturday, Nov. 18, 2023, in the gubernatorial general election.

Click HERE for key dates.

Click HERE to visit the voter portal.


The qualifying phase for the election runs from August 8 through 10. The following list will be updated as more candidates qualify.

BESE District 4

  • Paige Hoffpauir (R)
  • Stacey Melerine (R)
  • Emma Shepard (D)

State Senator (30th District)

  • Mike Reese (R)

State Representative (24th District)

  • Clarence Beebe (R)
  • Rodney Schamerhorn (R)

State Representative (30th District)

  • BJ Jones (I)
  • Charles Owen (R)

Vernon Parish Sheriff

  • Sam Craft (R)

Clerk of Court

  • Jeff Skidmore (R)
  • Dillon Smith (R)

Tax Assessor

  • Michael Bealer (R)


  • Shawn Granger (R)

Police Juror District 1

  • Jim Tuck (R)

Police Juror District 2

  • Marvin Hilton (R)

Police Juror District 3

  • Nathanael Derouen (R)
  • David Fox (R)

Police Juror District 4

  • Eric Klesko (No party)
  • Doug Roshong (No party)

Police Juror District 5

  • Cody Hostetler (R)
  • Reginald Johnson (I)
  • Todd Maricle (R)

Police Juror District 6

  • Scottie E. Benjamin (R)
  • Donnie Herrington (R)

Police Juror District 7

  • Charnel Bailey (R)
  • Brian Davis (No Party)

Police Juror District 8

  • Dean Mitchell (I)

Police Juror District 9

  • David Brister (R)

Police Juror District 10

  • Curtis Clay (D)

Police Juror District 11

  • Quintin Thompson (R)

Police Juror District 12

  • Kenny Haymon (R)
  • Laura Semien (D)

Constable Justice of the Peace Ward 8

  • Ronald Kevin Hagan (R)
  • Brian Herrington (R)
  • Danny James (R)
  • Justin Rose (R)
  • Gary Williams (R)

Chief of Police Village of Simpson

  • Ronnie Hagan (R)

Councilmen Town of New Llano

  • Denise Lavender (D)

Latest News

Latest News