OCT. 14 ELECTION: What’s on Jeff Davis’s ballot?

Published: Aug. 8, 2023 at 3:30 PM CDT|Updated: Aug. 10, 2023 at 6:02 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

JEFF DAVIS PARISH, La. (KPLC) - Louisiana will elect a new governor this fall.

State residents will vote in the gubernatorial primary election on Saturday, Oct. 14, 2023. Numerous other local and state races will also be on the ballot, as well as four constitutional amendments and local tax propositions.

Qualifying for the election concluded Thursday.

A candidate must receive 50 percent of the vote, plus one vote, to win a race. Runoffs will be held Saturday, Nov. 18, 2023, in the gubernatorial general election.

Click HERE for key dates.

Click HERE to visit the voter portal.


The qualifying phase for the election runs from August 8 through 10. The following list will be updated as more candidates qualify.

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education (District 7)

  • Cathy S. Banks (R)
  • Kevin Berken (R)
  • Erick Knezek (R)

State Senator (25th District)

  • Mark Abraham (R)
  • Josh Lewis (D)

State Representative (32nd District)

  • Dewith Carrier (R)

State Representative (37th District)

  • Troy D. Romero (R)

Jeff Davis Parish Sheriff

  • Kyle Miers (R)
  • Chris Myers (R)
  • Ivy Woods (I)

Clerk of Court

  • Rick Arceneaux (No party)

Tax Assessor

  • Donald Kratzer (No party)


  • Charles Deese (No Party)

Police Juror District 1

  • Donald Woods (No Party)

Police Juror District 2

  • Ann Bowman (R)
  • Susette Mouton (R)
  • Timothy Viator (No party)
  • Chad Woods (R)

Police Juror District 3

  • Marcus Peterson (D)

Police Juror District 4

  • Kori Myers (R)

Police Juror District 5

  • Tim McKnight (R)

Police Juror District 6

  • Moe Adams Jr. (D)

Police Juror District 7

  • Steve Eastman (R)

Police Juror District 8

  • Wayne Fruge (No party)

Police Juror District 9

  • Curt Guillory (D)
  • David LeJeune (R)

Police Juror District 10

  • Byron Buller (R)

Police Juror District 11

  • Butch Lafargue (R)

Police Juror District 12

  • Owen Cormier (No party)

Police Juror District 13

  • Bill LaBouve (I)
  • Chad Patrick Talbot (I)
  • Dennis Vanicor (R)

Constable Justice of the Peace Ward 1

  • Andrew Benoit (D)
  • Kenny Hebert (No party)
  • Pam Leblanc (No party)

Constable Justice of the Peace Ward 2

  • Bubba Langley (D)

Fenton Alderman

  • Alicia Scott (D)

More details to come:

  • Road District No. 10 of Wards One, Two, and Three - 11.33 Mills - PJ - 10 Yrs.
  • Fire Protection District No. 1 - 10.49 Mills Renewal - BOC - 10 Years
  • Fire Protection District No. 4 - 5 Mills Renewal - BOC - 10 Yrs.
  • Grand Marais Gravity Drainage District - 6.70 Mills Renewal - BOC - 10 Yrs.

Latest News

Latest News