OCT. 14 ELECTION: What’s on Cameron’s ballot?

Published: Aug. 8, 2023 at 3:32 PM CDT|Updated: Aug. 10, 2023 at 5:58 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

CAMERON PARISH, La. (KPLC) - Louisiana will elect a new governor this fall.

State residents will vote in the gubernatorial primary election on Saturday, Oct. 14, 2023. Numerous other local and state races will also be on the ballot, as well as four constitutional amendments and local tax propositions.

Qualifying for the election began Tuesday and continues through Thursday.

A candidate must receive 50 percent of the vote, plus one vote, to win a race. Runoffs will be held Saturday, Nov. 18, 2023, in the gubernatorial general election.

Click HERE for key dates.

Click HERE to visit the voter portal.


The qualifying phase for the election runs from Aug. 8 through 10. The following list will be updated as more candidates qualify.

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education (District 7)

  • Cathy S. Banks (R)
  • Kevin Berken (R)
  • Erick Knezek (R)

State Senator (25th District)

  • Mark Abraham (R)
  • Josh Lewis (D)

State Representative (47th District)

  • Ryan Bourriaque (R)

Cameron Parish Sheriff

  • Mike Hebert (R)
  • Chris Savoie (R)

Clerk of Court

  • Susan Racca (R)

Tax Assessor

  • Howard Scott Lavergne (No Party)


  • Kevin Charles Dupke (R)

Police Juror District 1

  • Sonny McGee (No party)

Police Juror District 2

  • Michael Fewell (R)
  • Curtis R. Fountain Sr. (R)

Police Juror District 3

  • Sam Bordelon (R)
  • Darryl Farque (I)
  • Butch Guidry (I)

Police Juror District 4

  • Haley Alleman (I)
  • Joe Dupont (R)
  • Danny Myers (R)
  • Kirk Quinn (R)
  • Johnny Watson (R)
  • Wendell Wilkerson (R)

Police Juror District 5

  • Mark Daigle (R)
  • Tina Horn (I)
  • Scott Trahan (R)

Police Juror District 6

  • Lee Faulk Jr. (I)
  • Ronald Nunez Jr. (R)

Constable Justice of the Peace Ward 6

  • Byron Gibbs (No party)