OCT. 14 ELECTION: What’s on Calcasieu’s ballot?

Published: Aug. 8, 2023 at 4:28 PM CDT|Updated: Aug. 10, 2023 at 5:29 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

LAKE CHARLES, La. (KPLC) - Louisiana will elect a new governor this fall.

State residents will vote in the gubernatorial primary election on Saturday, Oct. 14, 2023. Numerous other local and state races will also be on the ballot, as well as four constitutional amendments and local tax propositions.

Qualifying for the election began Tuesday and continues through Thursday.

A candidate must receive 50 percent of the vote, plus one vote, to win a race. Runoffs will be held Saturday, Nov. 18, 2023, in the gubernatorial general election.

Click HERE for key dates.

Click HERE to visit the voter portal.


The qualifying phase for the election runs from August 8 through 10. The following list will be updated as more candidates qualify.

BESE District 7

  • Cathy Banks (R)
  • Kevin Berken (R)
  • Erick Knezek (R)

State Senator 25th District

  • Mark Abraham (R)
  • Josh Lewis (D)

State Senator 27th District

  • Jeremy Stine (R)

State Senator 30th District

  • Mike Reese (R)

State Representative 32nd District

  • Dewith Carrier (R)

State Representative 33rd District

  • Les Farnum (R)

State Representative 34th District

  • Wilford Carter Sr. (D)
  • Kevin Guidry (D)
  • Franklin Lewis Sr. (D)

State Representative 35th District

  • Brett Geymann (R)

State Representative 36th District

  • Philip Tarver

State Representative 37th District

  • Troy Romero (R)

State Representative 47th District

  • Ryan Bourriaque (R)

District Judge 14th Judicial District Court (ES 1, Div. F)

  • Sa’Trica Williams Bensaadat (D)
  • Bobby Holmes (D)

District Judge 14th Judicial District Court (ES 2, Div. C)

  • Bill Cutrera (R)
  • Brad Guillory (R)
  • Mark Judson (R)

Calcasieu Parish Sheriff

  • Dustan Abshire (R)
  • Les Blanchard (R)
  • Elizabeth Carrier (D)
  • Stitch Guillory (No party)
  • Bradley Moss (I)
  • Mike Reid (R)

Clerk of Court

  • Lynn Jones (No party)

Tax Assessor

  • Wendy Aguillard (I)


  • Terry Welke (No party)

Police Juror District 1

  • Reath Chauvin (R)
  • Darby Quinn (R)

Police Juror District 2

  • Shawntel Carter-Willis (D)
  • Emile Fontenot (D)
  • Mike Smith (D)

Police Juror District 3

  • Eddie Earl Lewis Jr. (D)
  • Shelly Mayo (D)

Police Juror District 4

  • Mack Dellafosse Jr. (D)
  • Tony Guillory (D)

Police Juror District 5

  • Brian Abshire (R)

Police Juror District 6

  • Ron Hayes (R)

Police Juror District 7

  • Chris Landry (No party)

Police Juror District 8

  • Mary Kaye Eason (R)
  • Emily Fenet-Parker (R)
  • Scott Washington (R)

Police Juror District 9

  • Anthony Bartie (D)
  • Felicia Frank (D)

Police Juror District 10

  • Tony Stelly (R)

Police Juror District 11

  • Roger Marcantel (R)

Police Juror District 12

  • Judd Bares (R)

Police Juror District 13

  • Joe Andrepont (R)

Police Juror District 14

  • Randy Burleigh (R)

Police Juror District 15

  • Tony Tramonte (R)

Town of Iowa Tax Proposal

  • 2.5M Bond - BOC - 20 Yrs. for Iowa Fire Protection Dist. No 1 – Precincts 800, 801, 860S pp, 860E pp Only

City of Sulphur Proposition

  • Revision of Home Rule Charter – Precincts within the City of Sulphur Only