School closures in SWLA, effective Monday

School closures in SWLA, effective Monday
Gov. John Bel Edwards announced the closing of all K-12 public schools statewide, starting Monday Mar. 16. (Source: KPLC)

LAKE CHARLES, La. (KPLC) - Gov. John Bel Edwards announced he signed a proclamation that immediately halts any gathering of more than 250 people until Monday, April 13, closes all K-12 public schools statewide effective Monday, March 16.

The Governor addressed this order at 3 p.m. Friday afternoon in a joint media briefing with New Orleans Mayor LaToya Cantrell at New Orleans City Hall.

In Calcasieu Parish, all CPSB schools, facilities and events will be closed until April 13.

Public Information Officer Holly Holland said All CPSB Central Office personnel and school-level administrators will still report to work on Monday, Mar. 16, as normal until further notice.

Holland said they will provide updates to families and the general public by 4 p.m. every Friday, starting on Friday, March 20.

The superintendent of Catholic schools in the diocese of Lake Charles said since this is an executive order, they will follow the order and close all catholic schools in Southwest Louisiana.

Private schools have also followed suit. Here are some of the closures below, omitting colleges and universities:



Elizabeth High Kinder Elementary, Middle, & High Oberlin Elementary & High
Fairview High Oakdale Elementary, Middle, & High Reeves High


Carver Elementary East Beauregard Elementary & High Merryville High School Singer High School
Deridder Jr. High & High K.R. Hanchey Elementary Pine Wood Elementary South Beauregard Upper Elementary, Elementary, & High


Barbe Elementary & High Gillis Elementary Life Christian Academy St. John’s Elementary
Bell City Henning Elementary Maplewood Elementary & Middle St. Louis Catholic High
Brentwood Elementary Henry Heights Elementary Molo Middle St. Margaret Catholic School
Clifton Elementary Hunter Head Start Moss Bluff Elementary & Middle St. Theodore Holy Family
College Oaks Elementary Immaculate Conception Nelson Elementary Starks
College St. Vocational Center Iowa High Oak Park Elementary & Middle Sulphur High & 9th grade campus
Combre-Fondel Elementary John F. Kennedy Elementary Our Lady Immaculate Catholic School Vincent Settlement Elementary
Cooley Elementary Johnson Elementary Our Lady Queen of Heaven Vinton Elementary, Middle, & High
Cypress Cove Elementary Kaufman Elementary Our Lady’s School Washington Marion High
Dequincy Primary, Elementary, Middle, & High Lagrange High Pearl Watson Elementary Watkins Elementary
Dolby Elementary Lake Charles Charter Academy Prien Lake Elementary Western Height Elementary
E.K. Key Elementary Lake Charles College Prep R.W. Vincent Elementary Westlake High
Emmanuel Christian Academy LCB Academy Ralph F. Wilson Elementary Westwood Elementary
Episocopal Day School
F.K. White Middle Leblanc Middle S.J. Welsh Middle
Fairview Elementary Lebleu Settlement Elementary Sam Houston High
Frasch Elementary Lewis Middle Southwest Louisiana Charter Academy


Grand Lake Hackberry Johnson Bayou South Cameron

Jeff Davis:

Elton Elementary & High James Ward Elementary Lake Arthur Elementary & High
Fenton Elementary Jennings Elementary & High Welsh Elementary & High
Hathaway High Lacassine High Welsh-Roanoke Jr. High

Copyright 2020 KPLC. All rights reserved.