LIVE BLOG: Oct. 12 election

Use your voice and vote
Use your voice and vote(KPLC)
Updated: Oct. 12, 2019 at 8:27 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

LAKE CHARLES, La. (KPLC) - We’ll have complete coverage of the Oct. 12 election right here.

We’ll post updates and host our Election Night Webcast on this page. Click HERE if you’re unable to see the stream.

Click HERE for results as they roll in. Don’t forget to tune in at 10 p.m. for 7News Nightcast for a summary of tonight’s election.

10:50 p.m.: Results now in, in Beauregard Sheriff’s Race: John Gott and Mark Herford headed for runoff. Results were delayed as absentee votes added in.

10:41 p.m.: In Calcasieu Police Jury races, incumbents Shelly Mayo and Dennis Scott were unseated. Tony Guillory, Chris Landry, Judd Bares won their races outright.

10:29 p.m.: Wendy Aguillard (no party) held on to the Calcasieu tax assessor seat, with 54 percent (28,068). Challenger Mike Moore (R) had 46 percent (23,871 votes). Aguillard was first elected in 2011.

10:13 p.m.: Ron Johnson re-elected as sheriff of Cameron Parish. This will be his third term.

Johnson wins Cameron Parish Sheriff's election
Johnson wins Cameron Parish Sheriff's election((Source: KPLC))

10:09 p.m.: Gov. John Bel Edwards, a Democrat, appears headed to a runoff with Republican challenger Eddie Rispone. Click HERE for more.


9:58 p.m.: Tony Mancuso has been elected to a fifth term as sheriff of Calcasieu Parish. Mancuso (D) was first elected in 2003, then was re-elected in 2007 and 2015.

Click HERE for more.

Tony Mancuso elected to fifth term as Calcasieu Sheriff.
Tony Mancuso elected to fifth term as Calcasieu Sheriff.(KPLC)

9:38 p.m.: Doug Hebert re-elected Sheriff of Allen Parish. Hebert defeated challenger Joseph Lockett (Oakdale police chief) with 80 percent of the vote.

Doug Hebert reelected
Doug Hebert reelected(KPLC)

9:26 p.m.: The Beauregard race is tight! Jim Jacobsen has 29 percent, Mark Herford 28 percent and John Gott 27 percent, meaning Jacobsen and Herford would be in a runoff. However, we’re hearing that absentee votes have not yet been counted.

9:10 p.m.: We have our first complete race - In Cameron Parish, Scott Trahan unseats Davy Doxey for District 5 police juror. Trahan had 67 percent of the vote.

8:52 p.m.: With 9 of 40 precincts reporting, John Gott leads the race for Beauregard sheriff with 37 percent of the vote. He appears headed for a runoff with Mark Herford. 18-year-old Joe Chapa has 6 percent of the vote.

8:47 p.m.: With 81 percent of the vote, incumbent Doug Hebert leads challenger Joseph Lockett in the race for Allen Parish Sheriff.

8:44 p.m.: Early results from Cameron Parish have incumbent Ron Johnson winning the sheriff’s seat with 57 percent of the vote.

8:22 p.m.: Some notable early numbers from around the state - With 71 percent of the vote, Jeff Landry appears headed to another term as attorney general. Also, State Treasurer John Schroder has 67 percent of the vote. Commissioner of Insurance Jim Donelon has 58 percent of the vote.

8:10 p.m.: Early voting numbers show a sizeable lead for incumbent Tony Mancuso in the Calcasieu Sheriff’s race. Mancuso garnered 10,798 early votes, while Jimmy Richard has 700 votes and Elizabeth Gray-Carrier has 322 votes.

8:05 p.m.: Early results are in, showing John Bel Edwards leading the gubernatorial race with 41 percent of the vote. Eddie Rispone has 35 percent and Ralph Abraham has 22 percent.

Copyright 2019 KPLC. All rights reserved.