Facebook allows users to “unsend” messages

Facebook allows users to “unsend” messages

LAKE CHARLES, LA (KPLC) - Almost all of us have done it before. You hit that “send” button when you probably shouldn’t have.

Maybe you meant to send it to someone else, or, maybe you just had a rough day at work and overreacted.

Well, once that message is out there, it’s too late. The damage is done.

That is, unless it’s on Facebook Messenger.

The app just released an update that allows you to “unsend” a message, but you have to do it quickly.

Within 10 minutes senders have the ability to delete a text by tapping on the message and selecting “remove for everyone.”

If the recipient already saw it it may not matter, but if they haven’t, you may just save a friendship.

What’s the down side? The recipients get a notification that alerts them that you used the “unsend” feature, so there may be some explaining to do.

Another interesting note on the new feature; you can also set a timer for sensitive messages. Similar to the Snapchat app, your messages will disappear after a set amount of time.

Copyright 2019 KPLC. All rights reserved.