LSWA releases its 2018 All-Louisiana Collegiate Football Team

Chosen by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s panel of media voters and SIDs
Joe Burrow
Joe Burrow(Source: Josh Auzenne/Gray Media | WAFB)
Published: Dec. 25, 2018 at 5:25 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

LOUISIANA- Mindful that LSU’s season soared past expectations and carried the Tigers among the nation’s top teams while Nicholls won its first Southland Conference championship since 2005 and won a game in the FCS playoffs, voters on the All-Louisiana Collegiate Football Team amply acknowledged the state’s most accomplished programs in 2018.

LSU filled 10 of the 50 first and second-team spots while Nicholls had the second-most representatives, six, in voting by a Louisiana Sports Writers Association panel of media and sports information contacts.

Appropriately, LSU’s Ed Orgeron and Tim Rebowe of Nicholls shared state Coach of the Year honors, tying in the balloting. It was the second straight year for Rebowe to capture the accolade.

LSU linebacker Devin White was a landslide pick as the All-Louisiana Defensive Player of the Year, while Tiger quarterback Joe Burrow won Newcomer of the Year honors. White was a repeat selection.

Northwestern State receiver Jazz Ferguson, who began his career at LSU, was chosen Offensive Player of the Year. Southern’s Jordan Lewis, a defensive lineman, took the All-Louisiana Freshman of the Year award.

Orgeron led the Tigers (9-3) to a New Year’s Day (Fiesta) bowl berth with four Top 25 wins, three over teams ranked in the Top 10. It was only the third LSU team ever to beat three Top 10 foes.

Rebowe’s Colonels (9-4) were nationally-ranked all season, reaching as high as 10th in the FCS polls, after kicking off the 2018 campaign with an upset win at Kansas.

White was among 15 players who were repeat picks from the 2017 team, including three other defenders who were first-team All-Louisiana for a second straight season: Louisiana Tech defensive end Jaylon Ferguson, Grambling linebacker De’Arius Christmas and LSU cornerback Greedy Williams. LSU punter Zach Von Rosenberg and Southeastern Louisiana kickoff returner Juwan Petit-Frere were also repeat first-team selections.

The Ferguson brothers, Jazz and Jaylon from St. Francisville-West Feliciana High, joined White (Springhill-North Webster HS) as the only three players chosen for first-team honors on every ballot.

White has collected 115 tackles in his junior season, earning the Butkus Award as the best linebacker in major college football. The first-team All-American has 12 tackles for loss, including four in the seven-overtime battle at Texas A&M among his career-best 17 stops.

Jazz Ferguson, who began his college career at LSU, made a year’s wait worth it at Northwestern State. After a season on the scout team in 2017 establishing his academic eligibility, he set six school records while earning All-America and Southland Conference Offensive Player of the Year honors with 1,117 yards receiving on 66 catches, scoring 13 touchdowns and averaging 101.5 yards receiving per game for the Demons.

Burrow’s impact was also immediate. The Ohio State transfer stepped in at quarterback for LSU and threw for 2,500 yards and 12 touchdowns, while running for seven more scores and 375 yards, becoming the first Tigers’ quarterback to be such a productive passer and rush for at least 350 yards.

Southern’s Lewis shifted down from linebacker to the defensive front in his first collegiate season and collected 12 sacks, forced two fumbles, blocked a kick, and recovered a fumble for a touchdown in his rookie campaign, helping the Jaguars to a Bayou Classic victory and a West Division Southwestern Athletic Conference title.


COACH OF THE YEAR (tie) – Ed Orgeron, LSU; Tim Rebowe, Nicholls (11 votes each)

OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Jazz Ferguson, WR, Northwestern State (12)



FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR – Jordan Lewis, DL, Southern (8)



OL – Chandler Arceneaux, Nicholls, Sr., Bourg, La.; Kevin Dotson, UL Lafayette, Jr., Plaquemine, La.; O’Shea Dugas, Louisiana Tech, Sr., Lafayette, La. Ryan Hanley, Nicholls, Sr., Metairie, La.; Robert Hunt, UL Lafayette, Jr., Burkeville, Tex.

TE – Bransen Schwebel, Southeastern La., Jr., Amite, La.

QB – Chase Fourcade, Nicholls, Jr., Metairie, La.

WR – Jazz Ferguson, Northwestern State, Jr., St. Francisville, La.; Adrian Hardy, Louisiana Tech, So., Houston, Tex.

RB – Nick Brosette, LSU, Sr., Baton Rouge, La.; Trey Ragas, UL Lafayette, So., New Orleans, La.


DL – Jaylon Ferguson, Louisiana Tech, Sr., St. Francisville, La.; Patrick Johnson, Tulane, So., Chattanooga, Tenn.; Rashad Lawrence, LSU, Jr., Monroe, La.; Sully Laiche, Nicholls, Jr., Gramercy, La.

LB – BJ Blunt, McNeese, Sr., New Orelans, La.; De’Arius Christmas, Grambling, Sr., Vicksburg, Miss.; Devin White, LSU, Jr., Springhill, La.

DB – Hayden Bourgeois, Northwestern State, So., Church Point, La.; Grant Delpit, LSU, So., Houston, Tex.; Amik Robertson, Louisiana Tech, So., Thibodaux, La.; Greedy Williams, LSU, So., Shreveport, La.


P – Zach Von Rosenberg, LSU, So., Lake Charles, La.

K – Cole Tracy, LSU, Sr., Camarillo, Cal.

RS – Juwan Petit-Frere, Southeastern La., Jr., Orlando, Fla.



OL – Garrett Brumfield, LSU, Sr., Baton Rouge, La.; Grant Burguillos, McNeese, Jr., Mandeville, La.; Lloyd Cushenberry, LSU, So., Geismar, La.; Damien Lewis, LSU, Jr., Canton, Miss.; Bobby Reynolds, ULM, Jr., Keller, Tex.

TE – Foster Moreau, LSU, Sr., New Orleans, La.

QB – Joe Burrow, LSU, Jr., The Plains, Ohio

WR – Marcus Green, ULM, Sr., Pontotoc, Miss.; Drake Battaglia, Louisiana College, Sr., Thibodaux, La.

RB – Darius Bradwell, Tulane, Jr., Tallahassee, Fla.; Elijah Mitchell, UL Lafayette, So., Erath, La.


DL – Jordan Bradford, Louisiana Tech, Sr., Bay St. Louis, Miss.; Terrence Garnett Jr., Louisiana College, Freshman, Alexandria, La.; Jordan Lewis, Southern, Fr., Ocala, Fla.; Chris Livings, McNeese, Jr., Lake Charles, La.

LB – David Griffith, ULM, Sr., Plano, Tex.; Tamarcus Russell, Southeastern La., Sr., Dadeville, Ala.; Evan Veron, Nicholls, Jr., LaPlace, La.

DB – Colby Burton, McNeese, Donnie Lewis Jr., Tulane, Sr., Baton Rouge, La.; Joseph McWilliams, Grambling, Jr., Baton Rouge, La.; Roderic Teamer, Tulane, Sr. New Orleans, La.


P – Alex Kjellsten, McNeese, Sr., Lake Charles, La.

K – Lorran Fonseca, Nicholls, Sr., Hercules, Cal.

RS – Myles Ward, Northwestern State, Fr., New Orleans, La.

HONORABLE MENTION (received 25% of votes cast)


OL – Pat Allen, Southeastern La.; Dustin Burns, Northwestern State; T.J. Fialoa, ULM; Eddie Houston, Nicholls; John Leglue, Tulane; Ethan Reed, Louisiana Tech; Kody Russey, Louisiana Tech

QB – Shelton Eppler, Northwestern State

WR – Teddy Veal, Louisiana Tech

RB – Dontrell Taylor, Nicholls


DL - Anfernee Mullins, Grambling; Ronald Ollie, Nicholls; Immanuel Turner, Louisiana Tech

LB – Isaac Adeyemi-Berglund, Southeastern La.; Micheal Divinity, LSU; Zachery Harris, Tulane; Orel Ledet Jr., Louisiana College; Jacob Phillips, LSU

DB – Percy Cargo, Grambling; James Jackson, Louisiana Tech; Ahmani Martin, Nicholls; Khristian Mims, Nicholls

Copyright 2018 KPLC. All rights reserved.