Clay Higgins maintains 3rd Congressional seat

KPLC 7News Nightcast - Part I - Nov. 6, 2018

LA (KPLC) - Clay Higgins maintained 3rd Congressional seat in the Nov. 6 election, easily beating six challengers for his seat.

Higgins, a Republican, won a second term with 56 percent of the vote (or 136,871 votes).

His closest challenger was Mimi Methvin, a Democrat, who got 18 percent of the vote (or 43,727 votes).

Results are complete but unofficial from the Louisiana Secretary of State’s Office. For more local and state results, visit

In the 4th Congressional District, Republican Mike Johnson won a second term with 64 percent (or 139,307 votes). He defeated Ryan Trundle (DEM), who had 34 percent (or 72,923 votes) and Mark Halverson, who had 2 percent (or 4,612 votes).

U.S. Representative for the 3rd Congressional District:

  • Clay Higgins (REP) had 56 percent (or 136,871 votes).
  • Mimi Methvin (DEM) had 18 percent (or 43,727 votes).
  • Josh Guillory (REP) had 13 percent (or 31,387 votes).
  • Rob Anderson (DEM) had 5 percent (or 13,477 votes).
  • Larry Rader (DEM) had 4 percent (or 9,962 votes).
  • Verone Thomas (DEM) had 3 percent (or 7,814 votes).
  • Aaron Andrus (Libertarian) had 1 percent (or 2,967 votes).

Copyright 2018 KPLC. All rights reserved.