Southwest Louisiana

Congressional races top the ballot throughout Southwest Louisiana.

In Calcasieu, Cameron, and Jeff Davis Parishes, voters choose between incumbent Charles Boustany (Republican) and Mike Stagg (Democrat) to represent them as U.S. Representative for the 7th Congressional District. Voters in parts or all of Acadia, Evangeline, Lafayette, St. Landry and Vermilion Parishes also cast votes in the 7th District race.

Meanwhile, In Beauregard Parish, voters choose between Artis Cash, Sr. (Democrat), Patti Cox (Democrat), Chester Kelly (Republican) or incumbent "Jim" McCrery (Republican) to represent them in the 4th Congressional District. Some voters in Allen Parish, 12 precincts, also vote in 4th District Congress.  Beauregard voters also decide two school board elections in Districts 2 & 4 B, and a 1% sales tax renewal put on the ballot by the police jury.

Allen Parish voters in 17 precincts will decide from four candidates in the 5th Congressional District.  Those on the ballot are incumbent U.S. Representative Rodney Alexander (R), Gloria Williams Hearn (D), Brent Sanders (L) or John Watts (I).  Allen Parish residents have two school board elections in Districts 4 & 6; the Mayor's race in Oberlin between Phil Beard (D) and "Rick" Smith (D), and Fire Protection and Hospital Sevice District tax and millage issues.

In Calcasieu Parish, Iowa voters decide the race for mayor: It's between incumbent "Margo" Racca (R) and challenger C.J. Scheufens (D).  Calcasieu voters will decide on the Sugarcane Bay proposal, the Lake Charles Bond Issue, and Ward 5 Waterworks Bond and Proposition.

In Jeff Davis Parish, voters are asked to vote on the road sales tax for District 1.