Children's Museum announces June events

Children's Museum announces June events

The following activities have been announced by the Children's Museum for June:

Monday, June 1: Finding Nemo

Join us for "Movie Mondays" this summer. The movie "Finding Nemo" will be the first movie featured at 1:30 p.m.

Tuesday, June 2: Pasta Octopus

Create a fun pasta octopus using yarn, pasta, and a paper plate. Class begins at 11 a.m. and 12 p.m. and is limited to 24 children, ages 4 and up.

Thursday, June 4: Meet the Dr. Dogs

Join us at 11:30 a.m. and meet the Dr. Dogs Pet Therapy Team! These therapy dogs have wonderful temperaments that provide comfort & affection to people in stressful situations. The therapy dog group volunteers at retirement & nursing homes, hospitals, McNeese State University, Calcasieu Parish schools, counseling centers and various community events.

Saturday, June 6: Wibbly Wobbly Timey Wimey

Join us at 11 a.m. for CyPhaKids and discover Doctor Who! Kids will explore the solar system while doing a galaxy painting and creating a paper fez.

Monday, June 8: Mary Poppins

Join us for the showing of Mary Poppins at 1:30 p.m.

Tuesday, June 9: Wiggly Snakes

Paint your own wiggly snake in the ArtSpace. Classes begin at 11 a.m. and 12 p.m. and are limited to 20 children, ages 3 and up.

Thursday, June 11: Story Time with Rachel Windham

Join us for story time with Rachel Windham at 11:30 a.m. She will read her book "I Pray." A book signing will follow.

Saturday, June 13: Sasol's Second Saturday Science Show

Sasol continues its 5S Project with "Exploring the Human Senses" at 11:30 a.m. Rebecca Sanders will perform demonstrations that include tasting, touching, hearing, seeing and smelling.

Monday, June 15: The Little Mermaid

Join us for the showing of The Little Mermaid at 1:30 p.m.

Tuesday, June 16: Butterfly Wind Chime

Make a butterfly wind chime to hang on your porch. Classes begin at 11 a.m. and 12 p.m. and are limited to 20 children, ages 4 and up.

Thursday, June 18: MAD HATTER SCIENCE

The famous MAD HATTER, Joan Vallee Rettke, will present "Science at the Beach," at 11:30 a.m. Hands-on activities include the density of salt water and fresh water, the nature of waves, the importance of sunscreen and glow in the dark sea creatures.

Saturday, June 20: Father's Day Ties

Make your dad a special tie he will always cherish for Father's Day. Classes begin at 11 a.m. and 12 p.m. and are limited to 20 children each.

Monday, June 22: Mulan

Join us for the showing of Mulan at 1:30 p.m.

Tuesday, June 23: Ceramic Robot Banks

Paint your own ceramic robot bank to store your savings. Classes begin at 11 a.m. and 12 p.m. and are limited to 20 children each, ages 4 and up. There is a $1 fee for non-members for this new workshop.

Thursday, June 25: Gardening with Greengate

Greengate Garden Center will join us at 11:30 a.m. to teach us about the importance of plants, how to care for them and will help us plant one to bring home.

Saturday, June 27: Kids Choice

This is a workshop to use extra projects that were leftovers from previous workshops and weekly projects. Projects will be on a first come first serve and will be available from 10:30 a.m.-12 p.m. Limit one project per child.

Monday, June 29: Frozen

Join us for the showing of Frozen at 1:30 p.m.

Tuesday, June 30: Beaded USA Necklaces

Get ready for the 4th of July by making a USA beaded necklace. Classes begin at 11 a.m. and 12 p.m. and are limited to 20 children each.

Saturday, July 4: CLOSED for Independence Day

The Children's Museum is located at 327 Broad Street downtown Lake Charles. Museum hours are from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Saturday. Admission is $7.50 for children and adults.

Call 337-433-9420 or visit

for more information.