Cowboys land 10 on preseason All-SLC football teams - KPLC 7 News, Lake Charles, Louisiana

Cowboys land 10 on preseason All-SLC football teams

Posted: Updated:

By McNeese SID Matthew Bonnette

LAKE CHARLES – Returning All-Southland Conference players Antoine Everett, Everett Ellefsen, Bo Brown and Aaron Sam headline 10 McNeese Cowboy football players who have been named to the 2014 all-SLC preseason football team, the league office announced on Wednesday.

Joining Everett, Ellefsen, Brown and Sam on the first team units are tight end Zach Hetrick, offensive lineman Quentin Marsh and punter Jean Breaux while the second team includes running back Kelvin Bennett, wide receiver Ernest Celestie and defensive back Gabe Hamner.

McNeese returns 16 starters from last season that saw the Cowboys post a 10-3 overall record, 6-1 in conference play, and advance to the second round of the FCS playoffs. 

Everett and Marsh headline an offensive line that returns four of the five starters.  Everett was named a preseason first team all-American by The Sports Network earlier in July.

Ellefsen, a listing on the CFPA Defensive Line/End Watch List, recorded 44 tackles with a team-high five sacks to go along with seven tackles for a loss in 2013.  The senior end earned first team postseason honors by the Southland Conference and the LSWA in 2013.

Hetrick, a sophomore from Baton Rouge, saw action in all 13 games last season and was used primarily as a blocker.  He did have two touchdown catches on the year.

Brown, a junior from Katy, Texas, is a returning starter at linebacker who ranked third on the team last year with 75 tackles while leading the squad with 12 tackles for a loss to go along with four sacks.

Sam earned second team all-conference honors in 2013 after he led the Cowboys with 84 tackles and was second on the unit with 8 ½ tackles for a loss.  The senior from Lake Charles is expected to make a move to free safety this season.

Breaux, who was also named to the CFPA Punter Watch List on Wednesday, averaged 39.5 yards per punt last season, had five that went for 50 yards or more, and downed 15 inside the 20-yard line.

Celestie returns for his second senior season after he was granted another year by the NCAA as a result of him losing a season for medical reasons while at Texas Tech his freshman year.  The Lake Charles native caught 31 passes for 565 yards and five touchdowns last season.  He’ll enter the new season ranked 16th on the school’s career receptions list with 77 catches.

Bennett finished the 2013 season ranked second on the team in rushing with 774 yards and led the squad with a 7.2 yards per carry average.  He rushed for 100 yards or more four times and scored four touchdowns.  The junior from Lafayette will enter the 2014 slate with 1,076 career rushing yards.

Hamner, a junior from Sealy, Texas, started all 13 games last season and finished the year with 48 tackles and two pass interceptions.

Southeaster Louisiana led all conference teams with 15 players selected to the two teams followed by McNeese’s 10.  Central Arkansas followed with nine selections, Sam Houston State and Northwestern State with eight, Lamar with four, Stephen F. Austin with three, and Nicholls with two.

The conference’s two preseason polls – coaches and sports information directors – will be announced July 23 at media day.

2014 Preseason All-Southland Conference Football Teams First Team Offense QB  Bryan Bennett, SLU RB  Gus Johnson, SFA RB  Rasheed Harrell, SLU TE  Zach Hetrick, McN WR  Reggie Begelton, Lamar WR  Dezmin Lewis, UCA WR  Tyler Boyd, SFA OL  Antoine Everett, McN OL  Donald Jackson, SHSU OL  Cole Caruthers, UCA OL  Jonathan Braddock, SLU OL  Quentin Marsh, McN AP  Xavier Roberson, SLU PK  Luc Swimberghe, SHSU

First Team Defense

DL  Jonathan Woodard, UCA

DL  Everett Ellefsen, McN

DL  Jacob Newman, SLU

DL  Deon Simon, NSU

LB  Isiah Corbett, SLU

LB  Bo Brown, McN

LB  Drew Misita, SLU

DB  Harlan Miller, SLU

DB  Imoan Claiborne, NSU

DB  Michael Wade, SHSU

DB  Aaron Sam, McN

DB  Fred Thomas, NSU

P  Jean Breaux, McN

KR  Xavier Roberson, SLU

PR  Kevin Johnson, Lamar

Second Team Offense

QB  Caleb Berry, Lamar

RB  Kelvin Bennett, McN

RB  Keshawn Hill, SHSU

TE  Shane Young, SHSU

WR  Jeff Smiley, SLU

WR  Damien Watts, UCA

WR  Ernest Celestie, McN

OL  C.J. Simon, UCA

OL  Byron Williams, SFA

OL  Austin Douglas, NSU

OL  Justin Brock, Lamar

OL  Joe Graves, SLU

AP  Daniel Taylor, NSU

PK  Eddie Camara, UCA

Second Team Defense

DL  T.J. Randall, UCA

DL  A.J. Bowen, SLU

DL  JeMarcus Marshall, NSU

DL  Gary Lorance, SHSU

LB  Justin Church, SLU

LB  Davin Bovie, Nicholls

LB  Kaleb Muse, SLU

DB  Gabe Hamner, McN

DB  Dillon Winfrey, UCA

DB  Tyler Stoddard, SLU

DB  Adam Jones, NSU

DB  Byron Cobb, Nicholls

P  Nick Bruno, SFA

KR  Jatavious Wilson, UCA

PR  Ed Eagan, NSU
Powered by WorldNow