5 McNeese softball players named to 2014 All Louisiana Team

LAKE CHARLES – A second consecutive Southland Conference regular season championship along with a school record 40-win season has helped land five McNeese Cowgirl softball players on the 2014 All-Louisiana team, announced by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association on Sunday.

Senior outfielder Alanna DiVittorio joined sophomore pitcher Jamie Allred on the first team while junior catcher Ashley Modzelewski was selected to the second team and outfielder Lauren Langner and designated player Emily Vincent earned honorable mention honors.

In addition, former head coach Mike Smith shared Coach of the Year honors with LSU-Alexandria's Charlie Zeilman.

DiVittorio earned conference Player and Hitter of the Year honors after she helped guide the Cowgirls to a 40-17 overall record and a 20-6 league mark.  DiVittorio led the Cowgirls in hitting (.391) and was second with seven home runs and 63 hits.

¬Allred was named the league's Pitcher of the Year after she set a school record in 2014 with 27 wins to go along with 10 shutouts.  Her play helped boast the Cowgirls to a league No. 1 ranking in 12 team categories including ERA, strikeouts and hits allowed just to name a few.

Allred ranked second in the player of the year voting behind Louisiana-Lafayette's Christiana Hamilton.

Modzelewski topped the squad with 11 homers and 43 runs batted in to go along with a .283 batting average while Langner ranked second on the team with a .372 batting average, tied for the team lead with 11 doubles, and was third with 31 RBI.

Vincent hit .294 on the season with two home runs, 34 RBI, and tied with Langner with 11 doubles to lead the team.

Louisiana-Lafayette boasted the state's Hitter of the Year in Lexie Elkins, Pitcher of the Year in Hamilton, and Newcomer of the Year in Elkins.  LSU's Sahvanna Jaquish earned Freshman of the Year honors.

2014 All-Louisiana Collegiate Softball Team Hitter of the Year:  Lexie Elkins, ULL Pitcher of the Year:  Christina Hamilton, ULL Newcomer of the Year:  Lexie Elkins, ULL Freshman of the Year:  Sahvanna Jaquish, LSU Coach of the Year:  Mike Smith, McNeese; Charlie Zeilman, LSU-A

First Team

P     Jamie Allred, McNeese

P     Christian Hamilton, ULL

C     Lexie Elkins, ULL

1B    Sandra Simmons, LSU

2B    Natalie Fernandez, ULL

3B    Brittany Virgoe, NSU

SS    Bianka Bell, LSU

OF    A.J. Andrews, LSU

OF    Alanna DiVittorio, McNeese

OF    Haley Hayden, ULL

DP    Sahvanna Janquish, LSU

UTL   Pauline Tufi, LTU

Second Team

P     Baylee Corbello, LSU

P     Kaylee Guidry, NSU

C     Ashley Modzelewski, McNeese

1B    Brianna Rodriguez, NSU

2B    Allison Falcon, LSU

3B    Alexis Cacioppo, ULM

SS    Tara McKenney, NSU

OF    Kellye Kincannon, NSU

OF    Katie Lacour, SLU

OF    Brooke Thomas, LSU-A

DP    Cassandra Barefield, NSU

Honorable Mention:  P – Samantha Hamby, ULM; Logan Hebert, LSU-A. C – Kellsi Kloss, LSU. 1B – Kelsey Vincent, ULL. 2B – Miyuki Navarette, ULM. 3B – Heather Bunn, LSU-A; Samantha Walsh, ULL; Tammy Wray, LSU. OF – Bailey Landry, LSU; Shellie Landry, ULL; Lauren Langner, McNeese; Shelbi Redfearn, ULL; Taylor Terrio, Nicholls. DP – Emily Vincent, McNeese.

by Matthew Bonnette