Four Cowboys on ballot for SLC's all-time greatest running backs - KPLC 7 News, Lake Charles, Louisiana

Four Cowboys on ballot for SLC's all-time greatest running backs

The Southland Conference, as part of its year-long 50th Anniversary commemoration, will announce an all-time football team in November, and fans can participate in the voting through an interactive process presented by MidSouth Bank. The Southland's Facebook page ( will host weekly voting by position throughout the season, with selection of the all-time running backs occurring from Oct. 10-17.

Four McNeese State running backs are on a ballot with 20 other backs. Those are Henry Fields who entered the 2013 season No. 2 as the SLC's all-time leading rusher with 4,358 yards; Buford Jordan, a 1981, 1982 and 1983 first team all-SLC selection, the 1981 Offensive Player of the Year, 1980 Freshman of the Year, 1981 and 1983 conference rushing leader, 1981 all-purpose yardage leader, 1981 scoring leader, and became the SLC's first 4,000-yard career rusher; Vick King, a 2002 and 2003 first team all-SLC selection and Offensive Player of the Year, and the 2003 rushing leader; and Toddrick Pendland, a 2008 and 2009 first team all-SLC selection, 2008 Offensive Player of the Year, 2008 rushing leader and the 2009 scoring leader.

A blue-ribbon panel of approximately 80 individuals with coaching, administrative and media expertise will also participate in the balloting, and the fan voting will be included a portion of the final tally. The overall balloting includes over 200 outstanding former and current student-athletes and 15 legendary coaches that have patrolled Southland sidelines. The positional and coaching ballots will continued to throughout the remainder of the season.

The weekly Facebook voting will also coincide with Southland Conference Television Network football broadcasts throughout the season. The Southland TV package continues Saturday with the Northwestern State at Nicholls game on more than 20 affiliate stations at 3 p.m., CT, and continues through Saturday, Nov. 23, when the exclusive squad will be announced. Additionally, the all-time team balloting will be actively promoted on the Southland's new ESPN3-exclusive football broadcasts that begins Saturday with the Stephen F. Austin at Southeastern Louisiana contest.

Powered by Frankly