LSU to honor '03 national title team on Saturday - KPLC 7 News, Lake Charles, Louisiana

LSU to honor '03 national title team on Saturday

The following is an LSU news release:

It's been 10 years since LSU claimed the school's first Bowl Championship Series title and the school will recognize the 2003 team on Saturday in Tiger Stadium. 

Over 40 members of the 2003 national championship team will be on hand on Saturday for the halftime ceremony. Among those in attendance will be three team captains from that squad including quarterback Matt Mauck, wide receiver Michael Clayton, and offensive tackle Rodney Reed.
The 2003 team won the LSU's first national title in 45 years as the Tigers rolled to a 13-1 overall mark and beat top-ranked Oklahoma in the Sugar Bowl, 21-14, to claim the BCS crown.
Among the other highlights that year included a 17-10 win over No. 7 Georgia in Tiger Stadium; a 27-3 win over Alabama in Tuscaloosa; a 17-14 win over Eli Manning and 15th-ranked Ole Miss in Oxford that clinched a berth in the SEC title game for the Tigers; and a 34-13 victory over No. 5 Georgia in the league's title contest that propelled LSU into the national championship game.
 A photo gallery and box scores from each game can be found on
Powered by Frankly