Qualifying this week for Oct. 19 election - KPLC 7 News, Lake Charles, Louisiana

Qualifying ends for Oct. 19 election, candidates sign up

(Source: MGN Online) (Source: MGN Online)

Qualifying for the Oct. 19 primary election ended Friday.

Municipal seats will be decided in Allen, Calcasieu, Cameron, Jeff Davis and Vernon parishes.

The following candidates signed up for races:


Justice of the Peace, Ward 3

Miranda "Mandy" Fontenot, Democrat, Reeves

Dawn Perkins, Democrat, Ragley


Alderman, Village of Reeves

Waylin Paul Bertrand, Democrat, Reeves



Constable, Justice of the Peace, Ward 5

Horace Keith Hyatt Sr., No Party, Starks



Justice of the Peace, Ward 3

Vernon Primeaux, No Party, Creole


Jeff Davis:

Constable, Justice of the Peace, Ward 3:

Aaron "Jamie" Hatfield, Republican, Iowa


Councilman District A, City of Jennings

Rogeous "Randy" Lawdins, Democrat, Jennings

Carolyn K. Simon, Democrat, Jennings


Councilman District B, Jennings

"Johnny" Armentor, Republican, Jennings


Councilman District C, Jennings

Trey Myers, No Party, Jennings


Councilman District D, Jennings

Janet M. Jones, Democrat, Jennings

Wilton Journet Sr., Democrat, Jennings

Anthony "Coach" Leblanc, Democrat, Jennings


Councilman District E, Jennings

Stephen Robert "Stevie" Van Hook, Republican, Jennings



Constable, Justice of the Peace, Ward 3

Allen "Shane" Jeane, Democrat, DeRidder

"Joe" Simmons, Democrat, Evans


Chief of Police, Village of Simpson

Houston "Tully" Burns Jr., No Party, Simpson

David Delrie, Republican, Simpson


Parishes will also see some tax items on the Oct. 19 ballot. Early voting is Oct. 5 through 12, with the exception of Sunday.

The open general election is Nov. 16.

More here: http://www.sos.la.gov/Pages/NewsAndEvents.aspx#faq27

Copyright 2013 KPLC. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly