Ashlyn and Caitlyn Baggett Make All-Louisiana Team

Story Courtesy of McNeese State SID Pam Lafosse:

Seniors Ashlyn and Caitlyn Baggett Named To All-Louisiana Team

RUSTON-- Seniors Ashlyn and Caitlyn Baggett have been named to the 2013 Louisiana Sports Writers Association Women's Basketball All-Louisiana Team after leading the Cowgirls to the its third consecutive postseason appearance and the Women's Basketball Invitational championship game. Ashlyn was named to the first team and Caitlyn to the second team. The honor is the third straight for both players.

Ashlyn led the Cowgirls to their third consecutive postseason tournament appearance after posting a 21-15 overall record with an 11-7 mark in conference play. She helped McNeese reach the semifinals of the conference tournament and earned all- tournament team honors for the third consecutive season. The three-time all-conference selection broke the conference record for 3-pointers made in a career with 308. Baggett led the Cowgirls in scoring this season and was second in the SLC with 19.1 points per game. She led the league in 3-pointers made per contest (3.1) and was second the 3-point field goal percentage (.412).

In the WBI second round game against Elon, Baggett scored her 2,000th career point and made her 300th career 3-pointer. She ended her career as McNeese's second all-time leading scorer with 2,051 points, ranking eighth all-time in the Southland. She will also go down ranked ninth as McNeese's all-time steal leader and season records for points, field goals attempted, 3-pt. field goals made and 3-pt. field goals attempted.

Caitlyn was named to the second team after becoming McNeese's career assists leader and third as the all-time career scorer. She also holds the school's single season and career record for free throws made. She set a single game record with 17 consecutive free throws in the victory over Mercer in the first round of the WBI. She also set a single season assists record this season with 171 assists.

Caitlyn averaged 24.0 ppg. in the WBI tournament and shot a team best 57.1 percent from the field and 93.5 percent from the free throw line, making 29 of 31 free throws in four postseason games.

First Team

Theresa Plaisance, LSU

Ashlyn Baggett, McNeese State

Natosha Gottlieb, Louisiana College

Sharde Henry, LSU-Shreveport

Joanna Miller, Grambling State

Second Team

Adrienne Webb, LSU

Alisha Allen, Nicholls State

Danielle Ballard, LSU

Jazzmin Smith, Dillard

Caitlin Baggett, McNeese State

Third Team

Vashni Sharp-Moore, Centenary

Olivia Grayson, Tulane

Jasmine Brewer, Loyola

Whitney Frazier, LA Tech

KK Babin, Nicholls State

Honorable Mention: Danielle Blagg (Tulane); Jenna Diakos (LSU Shreveport); Brittany Lewis (LA Tech); Janelle Perez (Northwestern State); Lulu Perry (LA Tech); April Perry (SUNO)

Player of the Year: Theresa Plaisance, LSU

Freshman of the Year: Danielle Ballard, LSU

Newcomer of the Year: Joanna Miller, Grambling State

Coach of the Year: Nikki Caldwell, LSU