'EZ Moves' gets a not so easy review - KPLC 7 News, Lake Charles, Louisiana

'EZ Moves' gets a not so easy review

LOUISVILLE (WAVE) - How many times have you had to move heavy, bulky furniture? It can be a pain and even dangerous to your back. Now the 'EZ Moves' is suppose to make that move much easier and even safer, but does it really work? I put it to the test to find out.

After a viewer request, we purchased the 'EZ Moves' at a local Walgreens store. I found that it comes with eight skid pads to put under your furniture and a unique power bar that resembles more of a barbaric boomerang! However, it claims to give you 10 times your normal strength to pick up heavy furniture. Keep in mind, some assembly is required for this piece!

I tested the 'EZ Moves' first on a sofa in our newsroom. I used the power bar to lift each corner of the sofa and then slid a skid pad under each leg. The power bar seemed to work just fine in lifting the not so heavy furniture, and the skid pads did aid a bit in moving the sofa around. But, I wondered how it would work on a real heavy piece of furniture?

I found a large, heavy desk in our sports department. I used the power bar to lift the desk and installed four of the skid pads underneath. Then came the actual moving test. It wasn't that easy! It didn't seem to help all that much to me. The 'EZ Moves' allowed me to enjoy a smooth push as I almost pushed my guts out! I was lead to believe by the commercial that it would actually help take a lot of the weight off of items to make the moving around part much easier. It doesn't.

Since I wasn't real impressed with the way the 'EZ Moves' performed on a heavy piece of furniture, I decided to put it's own claim it could move a car to the test. We went to Downtown Ford for the test.

The infomercial shows a man lifting the car with the power bar, then easily moving the car with the skid pads underneath all four wheels. I somehow just knew that the power bar was NOT going to lift a car, so with the help of a showroom employee, we rolled the 2,600 pound Mustang onto the skid pads. Once in place, I pushed with all my might, but still was unable to move the car even a fraction of an inch.

So, in the end, I find that the 'EZ Moves' works well with 'light' furniture. If you plan on moving anything very heavy, I would recommend you call a few friends to help out. The 'EZ Moves' in my opinion won't do the job for heavy moving.

 

@

Copyright 2012 Copyright 2012 WAVE News. All rights reserved.

  • More Local NewsNewsMore>>

  • FIRST ALERT FORECAST: Periods of off and on rain likely through Tuesday

    FIRST ALERT FORECAST: Periods of off and on rain likely through Tuesday

    Monday, June 18 2018 4:48 PM EDT2018-06-18 20:48:23 GMT
    Off and on showers again TuesdayOff and on showers again Tuesday
    Off and on showers again TuesdayOff and on showers again Tuesday

    A weak tropical wave is located over coastal Texas and this has brought widespread off and on rains to our area the past few days.  And this system will keep rain chances higher than normal for the next days.  This system has no chance of becoming a tropical system, so it poses no threat to our area other than increased rain chances...

    More >>

    A weak tropical wave is located over coastal Texas and this has brought widespread off and on rains to our area the past few days.  And this system will keep rain chances higher than normal for the next days.  This system has no chance of becoming a tropical system, so it poses no threat to our area other than increased rain chances...

    More >>
  • PHOTOS: Logging truck overturns in Vernon Parish

    PHOTOS: Logging truck overturns in Vernon Parish

    Monday, June 18 2018 1:10 PM EDT2018-06-18 17:10:32 GMT
    A logging truck has overturned on La. 111 in Vernon Parish.  The accident happened just south of La. 8, according to a post on the Vernon Parish Facebook page. (Source: Facebook)A logging truck has overturned on La. 111 in Vernon Parish. The accident happened just south of La. 8, according to a post on the Vernon Parish Facebook page. (Source: Facebook)
    A logging truck has overturned on La. 111 in Vernon Parish.  The accident happened just south of La. 8, according to a post on the Vernon Parish Facebook page. (Source: Facebook)A logging truck has overturned on La. 111 in Vernon Parish. The accident happened just south of La. 8, according to a post on the Vernon Parish Facebook page. (Source: Facebook)
    A logging truck has overturned on La. 111 in Vernon Parish. The accident happened just south of La. 8, according to a post on the Vernon Parish Facebook page. There are no injuries, according to the post. Vernon Parish Sheriff Dept Copyright 2018 KPLC. All rights reserved.More >>
    A logging truck has overturned on La. 111 in Vernon Parish. The accident happened just south of La. 8, according to a post on the Vernon Parish Facebook page. There are no injuries, according to the post. Vernon Parish Sheriff Dept Copyright 2018 KPLC. All rights reserved.More >>
  • Life with a traumatic brain injury: The Ty Griffen story

    Life with a traumatic brain injury: The Ty Griffen story

    Monday, June 18 2018 12:58 PM EDT2018-06-18 16:58:42 GMT

    From the outside, Ty Griffen looks like a normal 26-year-old. He graduated from McNeese State University and was a pitcher on the baseball team. But for the last year, Ty's life is a blur. Waters were high in a Cameron Marsh where Ty was boating a year ago. 

    More >>

    From the outside, Ty Griffen looks like a normal 26-year-old. He graduated from McNeese State University and was a pitcher on the baseball team. But for the last year, Ty's life is a blur. Waters were high in a Cameron Marsh where Ty was boating a year ago. 

    More >>
Powered by Frankly