Cameron Parish Police Jury, Dist. 1 race is a tie vote

CAMERON, LA (KPLC) - It's a tie vote between two candidates running for Cameron Parish Police Jury, District 1.  Curtis Fountain and Sonny McGee each received 178 votes Saturday night.

Cameron Parish Clerk of Court Carl Broussard told 7 News Saturday night there will be an automatic recount of paper ballots.  The recount is expected to happen Tuesday.  Parish officials will also do a full check of the electronic voting machines.

In the run off for Sheriff, Ron Johnson defeated Wendell Wilkerson.  Johnson received 1,594 votes.  Wilkerson received 1,270.

Terry Beard defeated Thomas McDaniel for Cameron Police Jury, District 4.  Beard received 298.  McDaniel had 202 votes.

Kirk Burleigh won the run off for Cameron Police Jury, District 5 by 2 votes.  Burleigh received 321 votes.  Scott Trahan received 319 votes.

Joe Dupont defeated Joseph Delcambre for Cameron Police Juror, District 6.  Dupont received 201 votes.  Delcambre had 169 votes.

More election updates are at