Calcasieu Police Jury elects new officers for 2011

The following is a news release from the Calcasieu Parish Police Jury:

January 6, 2011 – At its January 6th meeting, the Calcasieu Parish Jurors elected Guy Brame President of the Police Jury for 2011, and Shannon Spell as Vice-President, both by acclamation. Mr. Brame succeeds Kevin Guidry, and Mr. Spell succeeds Les Farnum.

Mr. Brame is honored to be selected by his colleagues as President, and mentioned some key goals for the Police Jury in 2011. They include: parish-wide road improvements totaling $44 million, implementation of several high impact drainage projects, continued construction of the SEED Center for economic development, renovations to the Burton Coliseum facility, and wastewater initiatives for unincorporated areas.