Twelve UNC players suspended for opener

By Jason Belk - bio | email


Twelve players from North Carolina won't play in the 18th-ranked Tar Heels' opener against No. 21 LSU in Atlanta on Saturday amid an ongoing NCAA investigation.

The school said Friday that six players - defensive ends Robert Quinn and Michael McAdoo, cornerbacks Kendric Burney and Charles Brown, receiver Greg Little and suspended defensive tackle Marvin Austin - were declared ineligible for the opener for "violating school and/or NCAA rules."

Another six players - tailbacks Shaun Draughn and Ryan Houston; safeties Brian Gupton, Da'Norris Searcy and Jonathan Smith; and defensive end Linwan Euwell - are being held out of the game during the ongoing investigation.

The school said three more players are still in jeopardy of missing the game, though the school is working with the NCAA to determine their status.

Copyright 2010 KPLC. All rights reserved.