McNeese lands 14 players on All-Conference teams

By Jason Belk - bio | email

LAKE CHARLES, LA (KPLC) - The McNeese Cowboys landed a conference high 14 players on the preseason All-Southland Conference teams.

With 6 offensive and 8 defensive players named to the first and second teams.

The defensive secondary dominated with Pokes taking three out of the four 1st team spots.

Below is a list of Cowboys named:

1st team -- (RB) Champlain Babin, (OL) Miguel Gauthreaux, (OL) Jonathan Landry, (DL) Desmund Lighten, (DB) Malcom Bronson, (DB) Darrell Jenkins, (DB) Seth Thomas

2nd team -- (WR) Chris Royal, (TE) Corday Clark, (OL) Taylor Johnson, (DL) Terrance Freeman, (DE) Josh Ellison, (LB) Geremy Pilate, (DB) Ford Smesny

McNeese was also predicted to finish second in the conference, behind Stephen F. Austin.

Copyright 2010 KPLC. All rights reserved.