Fourroux wins Desmond Jones award

By Tom Annino - bio | email

LAKE CHARLES, LA (KPLC) - Derrick Fourroux loved to win.

He did plenty of that during his four years as McNeese State's starting quarterback.

Now the Erath native can close the book on his Cowboy career with one more honor.  Fourroux was named the 2009-2010 Desmond Jones award winner.  It's the award presented to the Athlete of the Year by the University.

Seven school records were broken by Fourroux.  He won three Southland Conference titles during his time at MSU.  His career record at McNeese is more than impressive.  Fourroux led the Cowboys to a 33-13 overall record.

This is the ninth time in McNeese State history a football player has won the award.  The last Cowboy football player to win the Desmond Jones award was Bryan Smith in 2007-2008.

Fourroux will receive the award at one of McNeese's home games in 2010.

Copyright 2010 KPLC. All rights reserved.