Two Cowboys take top honors

By Tiffany Blackmon - bio | email

LAKE CHARLES, LA (KPLC) – The Louisiana Writers Association released their 2009 College Football Team, with two Cowboys taking top honors.

Quarterback Derrick Fourrox was named the state's Offensive Player of the Year, and defensive back Malcolm Bronson was named the state's Freshman Defensive Player of the Year.

This season, Fourroux led the Cowboys an SLC Championship, for the third time in his career. He was also named the SLC co-Player of the Year.  Fourroux became the first Cowboy to reach 10,000 career total offensive yards.

Bronson led the pokes with 89 tackles, including four tackles for loss. He was also named the SLC Freshman Player of the Year.

Joining Fourroux and Bronson on the first team, were running back Toddrick Pendland, and defensive end Desmund Lighten.

Copyright 2009 KPLC. All rights reserved.