LSU Bowl Bound

By Tiffany Blackmon - bio | email

BATON ROUGE,  LA (KPLC)-  LSU will head to the Sunshine State for the Capital One Bowl.

The Tigers will face Penn State on New Years Day in Orlando, Fl. Kick off will take place at  Florida Citrus Bowl Stadium and is set for 12:00 pm.

LSU head coach Les Miles stated, ""We take very seriously the idea there is a Capital One Bowl matchup and a championship at stake, so we look forward to it. It will be a great challenge and our team, again is very excited about he opportunity."

Eight other SEC teams will join LSU in the bowl season. They are listed below in order of play.

Gaylord Hotels Music City Bowl: Kentucky vs. Clemson

AdvoCare V100 Independence: Texas A&M vs. Georgia

Chik-fil-A: Virginia Tech vs. Tennessee

Allstate Sugar Bowl: Florida vs. Cincinnati South Carolina vs. UConn

AT&T Cotton:  Oklahoma State vs. Ole Miss

AutoZone Liberty: Arkansas vs. East Carolina

Citi BCS National Championship Game: Texas vs. Alabama

(Copyright 2009 KPLC-TV. All rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)