Memorial/LSUHSC Family Medicine Resident

"These recipients will join an exceptional group of previous winners who represent the most outstanding family medicine residents in the country," said Carol J. Featherstone, MD, chair of the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) Commission on Membership and Member Services. "Their performance in residency training has proven to be the finest and brightest among a large group of highly qualified applicants."

A Lake Charles native and graduate of Jesuit University in Mobile, Alabama and Saba University School of Medicine in Devens, Massachusetts, Dr. Williams was nominated for this honor by members of the Memorial/LSUHSC faculty for his Leadership within the program as a chief resident.

"Dr. Williams serves as an excellent mentor and role model for his fellow residents," said Dr. Alan L. LeBato M.D., Director of the Residency Program. "He is the consummate professional with his colleagues, our staff and the faculty and he displays excellent interpersonal communication skills with patients and families."

Recipients of the Award for Excellence in Graduate Medical Education will be honored during an assembly of the Scientific Assembly in Boston, Massachusetts in mid-October. Dr. Williams will join other recipients, including William K. Armstrong, MD, of Corona Del Mar, California; José Avalos, MD of Los Angeles, California; Christina M. Cavanagh, MD, of Greenwood, South Carolina; Melissa A. Chenowith, MD, of Wichita, Kansas; Lacie L. Gregory, MD, of Bel Aire, Kansas; Rebecca Gogel Kinney, MD, of Boise, Idaho; Jessica L. LeBlanc, MD of Seattle, Washington; Elizabeth M. Salisbury, MD, of Chicago, Illinois; and Ralph E. Williams, MD, of Oak Park, Michigan.

For more information or to schedule an appointment with Dr. Williams, contact the Memorial/LSUHSC Family Medicine Residency Program at (337) 494-2023.