Memorial Family Medicine Residents Graduate

U.S. Representative Charles W. Boustany, Jr., MD, R-Southwest Louisiana, was the keynote speaker when eight physicians graduated from the Memorial/LSUHSC Family Medicine Residency Program on Monday, June 29.

Jeffrey Combetta, MD, Pearre Davenport, III, MD, Phillip Ehlers, MD, Brian Harrell, MD, Andy Quebedeaux, MD, Leslie Powell, MD, Jason Egloff, MD, and Angel Ho, MD received diplomas for having completed the three-year residency program. Drs. Combetta and Egloff were the Chief Residents.

"These graduates have been an asset to this program, and I believe they will be a credit to the communities where they will practice medicine," said Alan L. LeBato M.D., Director of the Residency Program.

The graduates of the Memorial/LSUHSC Family Medicine Residency Program for 2009 are (left to right): Brian Harrell, MD, Phillip Ehlers, MD, Leslie Powell, MD, Pearre Davenport, III, MD, Angel Ho, MD, Jeffrey Combetta, MD, Andy Quebedeaux, MD, and Jason Egloff, MD.

The Family Medicine Residency Program began in January 1995, with a mission to promote and provide the highest quality physician education through patient care by utilizing the most up-to-date educational methods and information systems.

The community-based program was granted provisional accreditation by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education in January 1996, and full accreditation in January 2002.

A cardiovascular surgeon with more than 20 years of experience, Congressman Boustany is a graduate of Louisiana State University School of Medicine in New Orleans. As a physician, he believes the patient-doctor relationship is the most important part of healthcare and has worked to implement patient-centered healthcare solutions.

"The LSU and Lake Charles Memorial partnership provides patients throughout our more rural Louisiana communities with outstanding quality health care.  It is an excellent example of what can be accomplished with regional cooperation in Louisiana," said the congressman. "I am honored to be addressing these doctors as they finish their residencies."

Since the Memorial/LSUHSC Residency Program's inception, 75 medical school graduates have selected Lake Charles as their residency site. Of the 47 previous graduates of the program, 30 are practicing in Louisiana, and the others are practicing in Mississippi, New York, North Carolina, Colorado, Tennessee, Texas, Nevada, Utah and Oregon. One graduate is working through an international medical mission.


Family Medicine Residency Program Graduation Set for June 29

Page 2

All but two of the most recent graduates plan to remain in Louisiana following graduation: Dr. Combetta will practice in Winnsboro; Dr. Davenport will practice in DeRidder; Dr. Ehlers will practice in Walker; Dr. Harrell will pursue a fellowship in sports medicine in Baton Rouge; Dr. Quebedeaux will practice in Eunice; and Dr. Egloff will practice in Lake Charles. Dr. Powell will practice in Beaumont, Texas, and Dr. Ho will practice in Orlando, Florida.

Larry Graham, CEO of Lake Charles Memorial Hospital, said the Residency Program's 9th graduation represented the culmination of many years of effort and collaboration between the Medical Staff, the Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-New Orleans, and Memorial Hospital.

"I greatly appreciate everyone who has worked so diligently in making the Family Medicine Residency Program successful, enabling Memorial Hospital to help meet the need for family medicine physicians in our community and region," Graham said.

Third year residents continuing their training are: Jason Baesler, MD, Megha Chandoke, MD, Andres Guillermo, MD, Ameer Khan, MD, Johnny Segura, MD, Aaron Marquardt, MD, Slade Smith, MD, and Danielle Walz, MD. Second year residents are: Jevin Bordelon, MD, Jessica Chaudary, MD, Kamran Chaudary, MD, Tejal Jetha, MD, Manhhai Nguyen, MD, and Ben Williams, MD.

Joining the program in July are second-year residents: Rocky Fowler, MD, and Tolvert Fowler, II, MD; and first-year residents: Jean Ancelet, MD, Ben Degatur, MD, Nick Heinen, MD, Lacey Millet, MD, and Melissa Rasberry, MD, graduates of LSUHSC-New Orleans School of Medicine; Rick Edwards, MD, and Fallon McManus, MD, graduates of LSUHSC-Shreveport School of Medicine; and Rajalakshmi Natarajan, MD, a graduate of Kilpauk Medical College-India.

The Family Medicine Residency Program provides residents an opportunity to care for patients at the Memorial/LSUHSC Family Medicine Center, perform hospital rotations with physician mentors, and attend educational conferences. It models a traditional family medicine clinic by assigning each patient to a resident. The resident serves as the patient's primary caregiver during their three years of residency training. Each resident is under the supervision of a board-certified physician.

The program utilizes the talents of a full-time faculty consisting of board-certified family medicine physicians. In addition to Dr. Alan LeBato, the faculty includes: E. Jay Soileau, MD, Bryan G. Barootes, MD, Danette Null, MD, Tuananh Pham, MD, and David DeWitt, D. Min. The program is also supported by a part-time physician faculty that includes: Mark Dawson, MD, MBA, David L. Dobbins, MD, PhD, Susan Drez, MD, Charles Humphries, MD, Bradley Loewer, M.D, Keane O'Neal, MD, Arthur W. Primeaux, MD, and Patrick Unkel, MD.

"The Residency Program will continue to train medical school graduates willing to serve underserved populations," Dr. LeBato said. "We look forward to honoring many more graduates in the future."

For more information about the Family Medicine Residency Program and Family Medicine Center at Lake Charles Memorial Hospital, call (337) 494-2023.